Forums - Open Redstone Engineers
HTML, CSS and JS suff - Printable Version

+- Forums - Open Redstone Engineers (https://forum.openredstone.org)
+-- Forum: Off-Topic (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Programming (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: HTML, CSS and JS suff (/thread-708.html)

HTML, CSS and JS suff - Billman555555 - 08-07-2013

I have some experience in HTML 4 but none in HTML 5 + CSS.
I want to stick to HTML 4 so I don't need to learn CSS but whatever
is better is good for me SO:

Discuss.

RE: HTML 4 vs HTML 5 - mort96 - 08-07-2013

HTML is just a markup language. The differences between version 4 and 5 of said markup language aren't too big.

What people mean with the marketing buzzword HTML 5 is the combination of JavaScript, HTML, CSS and PHP to create more interactive websites and browser apps.

Now, should you use PHP, JS, HTML and CSS instead of just plain HTML?

Yes. You should use CSS. CSS makes your code about a gazillion times more maintainable and readable, aswell as allowing for more interesting designs. When using CSS and HTML, you have all the elements on your page in one file, and have all the layout in another file. It's really worth learning CSS.

Sadly, when I tried to learn it, many of the tutorials on the topic were confusing. I found that they didn't really explain _what_ CSS is. I thought of it more as a language, like JavScript and PHP. What it really is though, is something really simple: it's simply a way to assign attributes to elements on a page, like where they're positioned relative to each other or what their color is.

What about JavaScript and PHP? Do you need those?

Well, that depends. It really opens up a lot of possibilities for making your site more interactive. It's simply a matter of using the languages if you happen to need them for what you're trying to achieve.

What's important to remember, is that PHP is executed server side, while JS is executed client side.