Forums - Open Redstone Engineers
Polynomial Multiplier. - Printable Version

+- Forums - Open Redstone Engineers (https://forum.openredstone.org)
+-- Forum: ORE General (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-39.html)
+--- Forum: Projects & Inventions (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-19.html)
+---- Forum: In Progress (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-20.html)
+---- Thread: Polynomial Multiplier. (/thread-5929.html)



Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 03-07-2015

Okay. So me and himehowareu are starting work on a polynomial multiplier using so simple ways on multiplying polynomials. It will be able to handle up to X^6 (input) if we have enough time. And I plan on using my experimental ACD as the data input and output systems.

Some back ground about multiplying polynomials.
http://www.mathsisfun.com/algebra/polynomials-multiplying.html
More info to come as we start building on my 1.8 server (which also servers as my test server.).


So bit of unfinished information. http://pastebin.com/RhF0a4tr


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Iceglade - 03-07-2015

Is it handling septics as inputs (in which case it outputs 12th degree) or as outputs (in which case it would just multiply cubics?


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 03-07-2015

If you give two X^6 it X^12. But the max size is yet to be determined.

We have all the math behind it down and are working a short write up on it to post here.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Apocryphan - 03-09-2015

(03-07-2015, 10:15 PM)Chibill Wrote: Okay. So me and himehowareu are ...

You mean himehowareu and I :p sounds funnier and proper.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 03-10-2015

I can be improper as properenglish is not around much anymore.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 03-12-2015

So far I have the plan for how it will be built just need to actually start building and also make all the parts needed.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 03-19-2015

Okay. The prymary memory is done will post pics later. As one I have theater every day till Monday. And two I want to tidy it up. (Edit) well I lost it all. Corrupted my server.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 03-22-2015

Well I got a check list thing up on trello. https://trello.com/b/0ELn2UYP/my-projects.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 03-28-2015

So any one have a fast analog adder? That carries at 10


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Legofreak - 03-29-2015

I think my analog CLE is ~10 ticks and Aft's is 9


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 03-29-2015

Okay. That could be of use. I am still working on some fast analog ram (I have a 2 tick read and write design from right after that update. Might use that.)


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 05-09-2015

So yeah this project is still waiting on information from my brother. (Himehowareu)


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 11-24-2015

Okay. This is getting on the road again. But with a few design changes. I will first design it in Logisim and publish its file here. Then I will build it on the server.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - ยงยงยงยง - 11-25-2015

Interesting project. But what would be the use of making that?


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 11-25-2015

It would allow for using higher level math in minecraft.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Magic :^) - 11-26-2015

I could possibly modify my 6 tick hex adder to work in base 10 if that could be of use


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 11-27-2015

I am thinking about reworking my first idea and make it use use binary but if I use an analog system I can get faster results.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Apocryphan - 12-08-2015

You can try my decimal analog multipler


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 12-08-2015

Yeah... Decimal would speed it way up.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - greatgamer34 - 12-09-2015

why not just use hex?
then convert to decimal on the display....

6hex bits have a higher magnitude then 6dec bits... AKA more raw compute power.
[Image: tU088Xq.png]


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Chibill - 12-09-2015

Because to use hex I would have to take a long time because of transmission line delay. While if i use dec there is a bit of distance I can go with out problems.


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - greatgamer34 - 12-10-2015

What about the 3 wide bus trick thing? it takes just as much delay as normal bussing...


xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
^^^^^^^^^^
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
........................xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
........................^^^^^^^^^^
........................xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

dots for spacing


RE: Polynomial Multiplier. - Legofreak - 12-10-2015

and you can do some interesting things when you don't use the full range of signal strength. you can fold it if you need it at a specific spacing.

[Image: 2015-12-09_21.27.31_zpsrhgkbjy0.png]