Forums - Open Redstone Engineers
My new and most thought out IS. - Printable Version

+- Forums - Open Redstone Engineers (https://forum.openredstone.org)
+-- Forum: ORE General (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-39.html)
+--- Forum: Projects & Inventions (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-19.html)
+---- Forum: Completed Projects (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-21.html)
+---- Thread: My new and most thought out IS. (/thread-5218.html)

Pages: 1 2 3


My new and most thought out IS. - Chibill - 12-12-2014

Hello everyone. Today I am giving you a sneak peak at my IS.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B8hDI6MCMcjnWTVyY0E5RzlqYXc/edit?usp=docslist_api

The one thing is that this supports a stack and a machine without a stack. It also have a Instruction to say that there last instruction is repeated many times.


RE: My new and most thought out IS. - LordDecapo - 12-12-2014

I do like the repeat inst. Is there a way to tell it to repeat like several instructions in a row over and over? Like "repeat inst 1,2,, and 3, 10times"?
Also first and within 5 min of posting


RE: My new and most thought out IS. - Chibill - 12-12-2014

I might set that up it would be interesting to make work.


RE: My new and most thought out IS. - LordDecapo - 12-12-2014

That it would, I have tossed around doing that a bunch, if u have conditional branching and a way to incriment a register by 1, u can simulate that kinda inst in software.
K and question time..
what bit size is the IS? 16bit?
what's the intended data width? 8bit?
also, how many registers u gonna have?


RE: My new and most thought out IS. - Chibill - 12-12-2014

What do you mean by IS bit size?

Its ment for an 8 bit CPU but it can handle up to 32 bit numbers using the Register bit mode selection instruct and also the one for the stack.

16 registers which when in 32 bit mode goes down to 4.

I will also have a stack 32 deep.


RE: My new and most thought out IS. - LordDecapo - 12-12-2014

Like how many bits wide is ur IS..? ???
Is that stack hardware or or in RAM, cause that's A HUGE stack for MC CPUs,
and u have a mode for registers? If u have AddC or SubB (or SubC, depending on what ur reading, they r the same) then u don't need the register mode cause you will have the ability to just do a calculation then extend it with the Add/Sub © and it will simulate larger bit values with out having the weird register mode.. Cause reading them (registers) like that hardware based could slow ur clock down by a factor of 4 or more.. unless ur heavily pipelining, and that would still have to stall for a while to catch up with the random bit sizes


RE: My new and most thought out IS. - Chibill - 12-13-2014

Not sure still need to get the Imediates wrote out and the structure.
Hardware stack using minecarts!
The modes are so you can have a huge 32 bit number saved then say change to 8 bit mode and take each chunk of it. And the stack and Regards change mode seapreatly.


RE: My new and most thought out IS. - GISED_Link - 12-13-2014

Aaaarg ! 00000 for NOP seems to be a bad idea. I really recommand to put the NOP instruction somewhere else and show an alert when the opcode (binary code of the instruction) is 00000.

And yes I think that addc and subc are very important.


RE: My new and most thought out IS. - Chibill - 12-13-2014

I don't have addc or subc what do they do?


RE: My new and most thought out IS. - Chibill - 12-13-2014

Noop shoud always be 00000 because then if a line is blank its noop.