Forums - Open Redstone Engineers
Question about visual basic - Printable Version

+- Forums - Open Redstone Engineers (https://forum.openredstone.org)
+-- Forum: Off-Topic (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Programming (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Question about visual basic (/thread-263.html)

Pages: 1 2 3


Question about visual basic - David - 05-24-2013

Hello,
I'm a little bit stuck in visual basic. Let me explain what I'm trying to code.
A batch IDE, that wasn't too hard to explain Tongue.
I want to turn certain words to turn red. Like echo, pause, exit, for, in, not, if, set etc. etc.

Just to be clear: the IDE will be for batch, the IDE will be made using visual basic

I've got some code figured out, but that only works once, for example:
echo lol
echo lol2

Would only make the first echo turn red.
Does anyone of you know a better solution?

BTW, I'm not able to give you my current code as I'm on a tablet, but I'll give you the code as soon as possible.


RE: Question about visual basic - Xeomorpher - 05-24-2013

Yes. Don't use visual basic.


RE: Question about visual basic - David - 05-24-2013

(05-24-2013, 07:00 PM)Xeomorpher Wrote: Yes. Don't use visual basic.

Why not?


RE: Question about visual basic - mad1231999 - 05-24-2013

It sucks.


RE: Question about visual basic - Xeomorpher - 05-24-2013

http://structinf.tk/lang.html


RE: Question about visual basic - David - 05-25-2013

(05-24-2013, 09:25 PM)Xeomorpher Wrote: http://structinf.tk/lang.html

You know what? I'm going to learn brainfuck!
I don't trust that site...


RE: Question about visual basic - mort96 - 05-25-2013

You should very much learn brainfuck.

Most of us in the squirrel foundation actually made their own brainfuck interpreters ;D


RE: Question about visual basic - David - 05-25-2013

(05-25-2013, 12:03 PM)mort96 Wrote: You should very much learn brainfuck.

Most of us in the squirrel foundation actually made their own brainfuck interpreters ;D

Can you make a 2D mine craft clone with brainfuck?


RE: Question about visual basic - mort96 - 05-25-2013

BF is turing complete. It also has a way of doing input and output. That means yes, it is possible.

It would be horribly slow though, and it would be complete hell to code. Even just doing multiplication was a real brain twister.
For the record, here's a piece of BF code to run multiplication I made during a boring class at school:
,>++++++++[<------>-],>++++++++[<------>-]<[>+>+<<-]>>[-<<+>>]<<<[>>><[>>+<<-]<[>+>+<<-]>>[-<<+>>]<<<-]>>>>[-<<<<+>>>>]<<[-<->]<<.


RE: Question about visual basic - xdot - 05-25-2013

(05-25-2013, 01:18 PM)mort96 Wrote: For the record, here's a piece of BF code to run multiplication I made during a boring class at school:
,>++++++++[<------>-],>++++++++[<------>-]<[>+>+<<-]>>[-<<+>>]<<<[>>><[>>+<<-]<[>+>+<<-]>>[-<<+>>]<<<-]>>>>[-<<<<+>>>>]<<[-<->]<<.

Or just:

[->[->+>+<<]>>[-<<+>>]<<<]