Forums - Open Redstone Engineers
Thank you. - Printable Version

+- Forums - Open Redstone Engineers (https://forum.openredstone.org)
+-- Forum: Off-Topic (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Off-Topic Discussion (https://forum.openredstone.org/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: Thank you. (/thread-15135.html)

Thank you. - Hastumer - 04-29-2019

Hey everyone, this is Sarah, also known in-game as SarahIsWeird. I've recently seen a video by jschlatt called "A tribute to Minecraft" - you may know it. If not, basically Schlatt, the creator of the channel, outlines why Minecraft was an important game to him and how it may be that it slightly changed for the worse and he grew out of it. Honestly, this video made me feel nostalgic, and I thought about the memories I made growing up with Minecraft. I started playing Minecraft when I believe I was about seven or eight? I honestly don't remember. What I know is I started playing when I was really young, and probably that's why it made such a lasting impression on me.

At school, I always was the bullied kid, the odd-one-out. I never really found peace of mind, especially at that time. Even now I'm anxious about every step I make, every decision I have to take, just so others can't get at me. Minecraft really helped me cope with this. I never realized this, but when I found out about Minecraft and started wasting hours on end in this weird game I was complete and utter trash at playing, it acted as some sort of valve for my pressure to release from. I made a really good friend in my early years, so to speak, of playing. He taught me how to love tech and how to question everything. I've been a very nosy and knowledge-hungry kid from the very start, but he amplified my love for the unknown even more. We lost contact a long time ago, but my love for the unknown has, if anything, only increased since.